Adler

https://twowhitecranes.bandcamp.com/track/adler

“Sometimes the point is a momentum, a fact, a quality, a voice, an imitation, a thing that is said or unsaid.”
Renata Adler, Speedboat

The song is named after Renata Adler, an incredible journalist and writer, more prolific in the seventies although she is writing a new book at the moment I believe. She wrote two novels – Speedboat and Pitch Dark which my friend Dan leant me and they are both incredible.

The song is not about her particularly except in the sense that after I read her novels I was pretty influenced by the disjointed style and I feel like I can hear that influence in this song (but I might be full of shit). Her narratives are non-linear but they still feel very concrete, very much grounded in reality, and not obtuse or inaccessible like other disjointed narratives I’ve read. So in this song I tried to replicate that in the way the lyrics are disjointed and not really particularly about one thing but there are specific terms which for me ground the lyrics in a reality, hopefully stopping them from being meaningless or trite.

But mostly this song is exciting for me because of the arrangement; this is probably the first time I’ve felt happy with how a song has come out beyond the lyrics/singing. I hope you like it anyway.

About twowhitecranes

I am a songwriter and musician. These are some thoughts I have about that fact. You can find out more here http://www.facebook.com/twowhitecranes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

