On essays

Over the summer I enjoyed using this blog as a place to put my thoughts about songs and songwriting and as a place to practice writing essays. Then I ran out of thoughts to put into essays. Well that’s not entirely true. I have had many thoughts about Bruce Springsteen and Paul Simon and some other people too but they’ve been vague and they passed through my head so quickly I didn’t have time (or possibly the inclination) to pin them down into words.

I’ve really missed writing though. It is a fun thing to do when it happens. In an attempt to foster and improve my own essay writing skills I have decided to start a group. In this group I propose to have a meeting once a month (in Bristol), where we discuss an essay by someone who is already really good at essay writing. I have also created a blog where anyone can post essays on the months chosen subject. For month 1 the subject and essay have been chosen by me and they are FOOD and CONSIDER THE LOBSTER by DAVID FOSTER WALLACE. But in the coming months I really hope people come to the group and that the next decisions can be made together. Any contributors from far away who have opinions on subjects and essayists will hopefully also be vocal!

The idea is that by reading and writing essays together we can find out more about how essays are written, how flexible they are as a format and what their limitations are.  I guess one of the first questions I want to think about is why I find academic essays so boring but well written essays are one of my favourite things to read. We can also learn about the subjects that we’re reading and writing about. It is going to be great.

Anyway, so this is what I plan to do to get writing essays again. Maybe I will write something else about songs here soon.

http://collectessays.wordpress.com/

About twowhitecranes

I am a songwriter and musician. These are some thoughts I have about that fact. You can find out more here http://www.facebook.com/twowhitecranes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

